Posteo Help Help categories Article

This article is tagged with: Account features

How do I terminate/revoke my account?

Would you like to terminate or revoke your Posteo account? With Posteo, this is no problem, as we do not use long contracts. You can terminate your account at any time with 14 days’ notice by using the termination form found in your account settings.

Revocation: If you terminate your account within the first 14 days after opening it, the termination form will automatically recognise this as a revocation.

Terminating a Posteo account

  1. Click Settings
  2. Click My account
  3. Click Termination

Öffnen Sie in den Einstellungen den Menüpunkt "Kündigung".

  1. Select “I am terminating with immediate effect”
  2. 14 days after the desired date of termination, your account will be permanently deleted. Please confirm that you will secure any
    required data by the date stated.

Geben Sie Ihr Passwort ein, wählen Sie, wann Sie das Konto kündigen möchten und bestätigen Sie die Löschung der Daten.

  1. Select whether you would like to receive a refund of your remaining credit, donate it to an NGO, or donate it to Posteo.
  2. For a European bank transfer, enter your IBAN and BIC, if applicable.
    As a PayPal user, enter the email address that you use to log in to PayPal.

Legen Sie fest, was Sie mit Ihrem Restguthaben machen möchten und geben Sie ggf. einen Zahlungsweg an.

  1. Enter your password. This ensures that the termination originates from you, the holder of the account. Confirm the termination by clicking the Confirm termination button.

Klicken Sie auf "Kündigung bestätigen".

After terminating, you will receive a confirmation email. In this email we inform as to when your data will be deleted by us and how to secure your data beforehand.

Cancelling termination

Until your data is deleted, you can still cancel the termination of your account, reversing your decision. This is done as follows:

  1. Click Settings
  2. Click My account
  3. Click Termination
  4. Click Cancel termination

Öffnen Sie die Einstellungen und klicken Sie unter "Kündigung" den Button "Kündigung aufheben".

Related help articles