Posteo Help Help categories Article

This article is tagged with: Webmail

How do I delete my data?

Would you like to delete data from Posteo? No problem – you can permanently delete data such as emails, contacts, calendar entries and notes. We explain how it works in this help article.

The following options are available to delete items:

Delete an email

An email can be deleted using the waste paper bin symbol in the menu bar of the webmail interface:

  1. First, select an email by clicking it with the mouse
  2. Click Delete

Click the email and then click "Delete" to move the email to the trash

You have now moved the emails to the trash. From the trash, you can retrieve the email or permanently delete it.

To retrieve an email from the trash, simply move the email back to a folder of your choice (for example, the inbox). We explain how to move an email here.

We explain how to delete an email from the trash in the next section.

Deleting emails from the trash

How to permanently delete an email:

When you delete an email in the trash, it is permanently deleted from your account:

  1. Open the Trash folder
  2. Click the email that you wish to delete
  3. Click Delete

Select an email from the "Trash" and click "Delete" to permanently delete the email

How to permanently delete all emails from the trash:

You can permanently delete all emails in the trash by emptying the trash:

  1. Open the Trash
  2. Click the cog symbol (at the bottom)
  3. Click Empty
  4. Confirm that you wish to permanently delete the emails by clicking OK.

Select the "Trash" folder, click the cog symbol (at the bottom) and click "Empty"

Privacy tips

Emails deleted from the trash are immediately and permanently deleted from your account after the deletion process. We create backups of all accounts once per day, however. These are maintained for seven days – then the respective data backup is deleted. After seven days at the latest, therefore, data deleted from the trash is permanently deleted from our servers.

If you happen to have accidentally deleted emails from the trash, we can usually restore the data for you from the backups. The only requirement is that the deleted data must have been contained in your account for one of the last seven backup points. In this case, you need to contact us within seven days of the accidental deletion. After this time period has elapsed, the data is completely and permanently deleted from our servers.

Exception: If crypto mail storage is activated for your account, we no longer have access to your data. In this case, we can no longer restore your data from our backups.

Moving folders to the trash

You can move the emails contained in a folder to the trash by emptying the folder:

  1. Click Settings
  2. Click Folders
  3. Select the folder for which you wish to delete its contents
  4. Click the cog symbol
  5. Click Empty

Open the folder settings, select a folder and click "Empty"

You have now moved the emails to the Deleted Items folder (Trash)

Delete a folder

Alternatively, you can also delete the entire folder including its content with immediate effect.

Important: Make sure to check beforehand whether the folder really only contains emails that you wish to delete with immediate effect.

  1. Click Settings
  2. Click Folders
  3. Select the folder you would like to delete
  4. Click the cog symbol
  5. Click Delete

Click "Settings" then "Folders", select the folder and click the cog symbol then "Empty"

You have now permanently deleted the folder and all emails contained within it. The emails are not moved to the trash.

Accidental deletion of a folder

If you happen to accidentally delete a folder, contact support@posteo.de within seven days. Within seven days, our team can restore your data from our security backups. After seven days, the data is deleted from the backups.

Exception: If crypto mail storage is activated for your account, we no longer have access to your data. In this case, we can no longer restore your data from our backups.

Delete address book or contacts

You can reset your address book in the user admin section of the Posteo webmail interface:

  1. Click Settings
  2. Click My account
  3. Click User admin
  4. Under the heading Reset address book, click Reset address book to delete all contacts

Open "User admin" in the settings and click "Reset address book"

If you delete the address book from your account as described above, all address book data is deleted with immediate effect. Before deleting, please ensure that you have exported or locally saved any contact data that you still require.

Delete calendar or entries

In the user admin section of the Posteo webmail interface, you can delete all calendar entries in one go.

  1. Click Settings
  2. Click My account
  3. Click User admin
  4. Under Reset calendar, select all calendar entries
  5. Click Reset calendar

If you delete the calendar or calendar entries from your account as described above, all calendar data is deleted with immediate effect. Before deleting, please ensure that you have exported or locally saved any data that you still require.

Click "User admin" then under "Reset calendar" select "all calendar entries" and click "Reset calendar"

Delete notes

Posteo IMAP notes are saved as emails in the Notes folder. If you would like to delete all notes, follow the instructions provided in the Move a folder to the trash section in order to empty the Notes folder.

Click "Settings" then "Folders", select the "Notes" folder then click the cog symbol and "Empty"

Delete all data (terminate account)

If you wish to delete all data (your Posteo account), you can terminate your Posteo account at any time. You then have 14 days to export your data. Posteo allows you to take your data with you using open standards – it is, after all, your data. When you terminate, we send you an email that informs you of the deletion date for your account. On the date stated, we permanently delete all data in the account from our servers. As a privacy-oriented provider, we have explicitly committed ourselves to this in our terms an conditions.

Privacy note

After seven days, the deleted data is also deleted from the backups and thereby completely deleted from the Posteo servers.

Related help articles