Posteo Help Help categories Article

This article is tagged with: Webmail

How do I delete an email?

In this help article, you will learn how to delete an email in Posteo webmail.

If you delete an email, this will usually be moved to the recycling bin (deleted items). From there, you can permanently delete the email or simply move it back to a folder of your choice (e.g. to the inbox).

Contents

  1. Delete an email
  2. Delete multiple emails
  3. Delete all emails from a folder
  4. Permanently delete an email
  5. Privacy notice

How to delete an email in Posteo webmail

You can delete an email by clicking on the trash can icon located in Posteo webmail’s menu bar. To do so, follow these steps:

  1. Select an email by clicking on it with the mouse.
  2. Click on Delete.

Click the email and then click "Delete" to move the email to the trash.

That’s it! You have moved the email to the recycling bin.

How to delete multiple emails in Posteo webmail

You can also delete multiple emails by using the trash can icon located in Posteo webmail’s menu bar. To do so, follow these steps:

  1. Select the emails that you would like to delete by pressing and holding the Ctrl key (Mac: CMD key) while clicking on the emails.
  2. Click on Delete.

That’s it! You have moved multiple emails to the recycling bin.

Select the emails by holding the Ctrl key (Mac: CMD key) and clicking on them. Then click on "Delete" to move the emails to the into trash can.

Tip: you can also select multiple emails in a sequence at once:

  1. Select an email from the list by clicking on it.
  2. Press and hold the shift key.
  3. Click on an email above or below that email in the list.

That’s it! You have selected both of the emails you clicked on as well as all emails in between. You can now move these emails to the recycling bin by clicking on Delete.

How to delete all emails from a folder

You can move a folder’s entire contents into the trash can by emptying a folder. To do so, follow these steps:

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Click on Folders.
  3. Select the folder containing the emails you would like to delete.
  4. Click on the gear symbol.
  5. Click on Empty.

Open the folder settings, select a folder and click &quotEmpty&quot.

That’s it! You have moved the emails to the trash can.

How to delete emails from the recycling bin

A deleted email in the recylcing bin still takes up storage space. Only when an email has been deleted from the “Deleted Items” folder will an email be permanently deleted and not take up storage space anymore.

You can specifically delete individual emails from the recycling bin or empty the entire recycling bin at once.

How to permanently delete an individual email:

To delete an individual email in the recycling bin, follow these steps:

  1. Open the folder Deleted Items.
  2. Click the email that you would like to permanently delete.
  3. Click on Delete.

That’s it! You have deleted the email from your account.

Select an email from the &quotTrash&quot and click &quotDelete&quot to permanently delete the email.

How to permanently delete all emails from the recycling bin:

By emptying the recycling bin, you can delete all emails contained within at once. Please see the visual instructions below for more information. You can find a detailed step-by-step guide here.

Select the &quotTrash&quot folder, click the cog symbol (at the bottom) and click &quotEmpty&quot.

Privacy notice

Emails that have been deleted from the recycling bin are permanently deleted from your account immediately after the deletion process. We create security backups for all mailboxes once per day. We retain these for 7 days, after which the respective data backup is permanently deleted. Therefore, at the latest, data deleted from the recycling bin is permanently deleted from our servers after 7 days.

Should you have accidentally deleted emails from the recycling bin, we can restore the data from backups for you in some circumstances. The only requirement: the deleted data must have been in your account at the time during one of the last seven backups. In this case, you must contact us within 7 days after the emails were accidentally deleted. After this point in time, the data is completely and irretrievably deleted from our servers. You can learn how to request a backup here.

Exception: If your crypto mail storage has been activated, we do not have any access to your data. In this case, we are unable to restore your data from our backups.

Related help articles